The last time we left La Roux, the British singer had scored a breakthrough hit in the U.S., with “Bulletproof” hitting the top 10 in the country, all the while scoring three sizable hits in her homeland.

Now, the synthpopper is back again with her sophomore release, Trouble in Paradise, which is now available to stream ahead of its July 22 release on her website.

La Roux, now a one-piece made up of Elly Jackson following the departure of Ben Langmaid, who contributed songwriting, production and keyboards to the group, still features Langmaid’s flourishes throughout the album; he co-wrote six of Trouble in Paradise‘s nine songs. Jackson, meanwhile, c0-wrote every song but one: “The Feeling,” the album’s climax, which she wrote by herself.

Related: Watch La Roux to ‘Let Me Down Gently’ in New Video

Prior to the album’s release, Jackson spoke with Billboard about her sophomore release. She had a very candid approach to music, one for which record labels might pine: a goal to create songs that can become radio singles.



Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

More From 97.1 AMP Radio - LA's New Hit Music Station

97.1 Seconds With
Request A Song on AMP Radio

Listen Live